top of page

Competition

This is a topic that seems to come up a lot within hip hop. I've noticed that when it comes to this sport there aren't too many friends. The confusing part is how many artist in this independent game reach out to one another to connect or collab then end up beefing or never dealing with each other after the collaboration. Is the reason for the collab just to say you did it? Is it to just say you got a track with an artist who may be somewhat buzzing at the moment? Or is it because you respect this persons artistry? The truth of the matter is that, no matter the reason people have different agendas and you must be very careful who you invest your energy on. Myself, I am very cautious of who I align myself with because I've experience one too many times where artist have asked me to lay a verse down for one of their songs then never hear from the artist again once the verse was provided. I look to create and attempt to maintain relationships with the people I work with. I take this very seriously. If not I would have never reached out in the first place. I work with those who's music I respect first and foremost. This has never been about who's popular at the moment in my eyes. I wanna work with legends I grew up listening too and rappers who have a love and respect for the art form. I not really concerned with the popular rapper in my city who's music i cant understand or who everybody thinks i should link with for me to get "hot". Some schemes work for certain individuals but they dont work for everybody. I prefer to stay in my own lane.Respect.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page